Winner of World Technology Award – Law

10671356_10152807285091142_932999345118909357_nThe World Technology Network (WTN) announced on November 14, 2014 that Professor Mayer-Schönberger is the 2014 winner of the World Technology Award in the Law category. Organized in association with FORTUNE and TIME magazines, the World Technology Network chose Mayer-Schönberger from a shortlist of renowned legal academics, including Harvard professor Jonathan Zittrain and Stanford professor Barbara van Schewick. Previous recipients of the award include Harvard law professor Lawrence Lessig, privacy advocate Marc Rotenberg, and Berkeley law professor Pamela Samuelson. This year’s other awardees include Walter Isaacson, Elon Musk, and Rodney Brooks. Amazing company to be in!

An “intellectual godfather of the right to be forgotten”?

200px-Original_New_Yorker_coverIn a comprehensive, detailed and balanced article (“The Solace of Oblivion“, September 29, 2014 Issue) in the NEW YORKER on the right to be forgotten, how it came about, what it entails and what it might mean, Jeffrey Tobin extensively quotes Professor Mayer-Schönberger, after calling him “one the intellectual godfathers of the right to be forgotten”. Well worth a read.